Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Renaissance and Baroque Art
The Archangel Gabriel
ca. 1490 (early Renaissance)
Oil on panel
Walters Art Museum
Art & Architecture Source Indexes and abstracts articles in visual arts periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. In addition to articles, Art Source indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Sources includes the contents of Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective.
Oxford Art Online (including Grove Art) Includes 30,000 articles and images on every aspect of the visual arts. Searchable images are from organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, as well as 40,000 editorially selected image links to museums and galleries, which provide essential visual support for art history scholarship. Also includes access to the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Brainstorming Keywords and Search Strategies
This tutorial will walk students through the basics of the research process, from coming up with avenues to explore from a central topic to focusing down that topic and generating keywords to search with. The examples used will be focused around art historical subjects, but should be applicable to most subjects.
A brief review of different types of sources.