Skip to main content

AU Libraries Remote Support: Resources with Spring 2020 Access

The AU Libraries will continue supporting the faculty and students of Alfred University during our response to COVID-19.

About This Page

This page is being provided to help faculty, staff, and students locate e-resources (especially textbooks) being made available while schools are affected by COVID-19.

AU Libraries does not subscribe to (most of) the resources linked below. These resources are being supplied by publishers and vendors and are subject to a variety of terms and conditions. Decisions to create accounts, sign up for trials, or otherwise utilize these resources are the responsibility of the user.

Ebooks

New York Public Library SimplyE -- Residents of New York State can apply for a NYPL library card to access electronic resources. Both the library card application and accessing resources can be done via the app.

Internet Archive -- Has ebooks, video, audio, and other resources, in addition to the Wayback Machine for archived websites.

EBSCO eBook Collection -- New titles have been (temporarily) made available and the max number of simultaneous uses of ebooks has increased.

ProQuest eBook Central -- New titles have been (temporarily) made available and the max number of simultaneous uses of ebooks has increased.

Project MUSE -- Books and journals focused on the humanities and social sciences. Contains a mix of open access, temporarily free, and subscription-only publications.

Bloomsbury Design Library -- Trial database available through June 30. Provides scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. Includes reference and book content, as well as museum object images.

Videos / Demos

JoVE Science Education -- Free access to JoVE Education videos through June 15. Includes lab demos, simulations, and explanatory videos. Students/Faculty must create individual accounts.

Academic Video Online -- Trial database available through June 26. Includes almost 70,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Textbooks

Multi-Publisher Platforms

RedShelf -- Students can borrow up to 7 ebooks through May 25 from multiple participating publishers. Students must create individual accounts with their AU emails

VitalSource -- Students can borrow up to 7 ebooks through May 25 from multiple participating publishers. Students must create individual accounts with their AU emails. This is the resource being recommended by the bookstore (posted on MyAU).

EBSCO and ProQuest ebooks are also extending (unlimited users) access for library owned content and indexing ebooks being made available by some university presses.

Textbooks/Courseware by Publisher

Cambridge Core textbooks -- Free access to Cambridge Core textbooks and some additional materials through June 29

Cengage -- Free access to Cengage Unlimited through spring semester for campuses closed due to COVID-19. Students must create individual accounts and sign up for 14-day free trial (which they can then start over after 14 days)

McGraw-Hill -- Free access to McGraw-Hill Connect and ALEKS courseware through spring semester for campuses impacted by COVID-19. Faculty must sign up and setup their own courses.

Pearson -- Textbooks are (probably) covered by VitalSource and RedShelf (AU is a VitalSource campus)

Wiley -- Free access to WileyPLUS platform/courseware through spring semester for campuses impacted by COVID-19. Faculty must sign up their courses (and provide a fair amount of info).

Many university and society presses are also releasing their content (for now). These are (probably) covered by the multi-publisher platforms listed above.