Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a database?
A library database is a an electronic collection of published works. Library databases have been curated to help you research different topics. Most databases will have full text and abstracting/indexing for academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources.
Full text means that the database will provide digital access to a copy of the articles in the journal.
Abstracting and indexing means that the database provides basic information about articles in a journal. This information usually includes: title, author, publisher, publication date, topic, and an abstract.
An abstract is a summary of the article. It is a very helpful tool for determining if the article you found in the database is right for you.
Selected Education Databases
Career & Technical Education Database
Periodicals covering all aspects of vocational/technical education.
Journals in education and related fields.
Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. Coverage includes all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties.
Educator's Reference Complete
Full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than a million records, some of which are available in full-text.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook is a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Tests in Print provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date, and test authors.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Search for Articles in Primo
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
A multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Provides full-text articles from over 300 high-quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Most journals are available beginning between 1990 and 2000 to the present.
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
New York Times Digital Edition
Alfred University faculty, staff, and students have access to the digital edition of the New York Times through a service called "Academic Pass." For registration information, see: http://libguides.alfred.edu/nyt
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Provides information on social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
A comprehensive database of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many can be borrowed from the publishing institution through interlibrary loan (ask at the library for more information).