Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference books include encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, guides, and style manuals. They can help you find quick factual information and are a good place to get background information. Use the below links to find out general information about your topic.
Merriam Webster Online
The Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary is based on the print version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Dictionary, Eleventh Edition.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica, World Data Analyst (statistics on the countries of the world), Gateway to the Classics (significant works in literature, philosophy, history, and science), Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, and more.
Encyclopedia of Education and Information Technologies
This encyclopedia aims to offer researchers an indication of the breadth and importance of information systems in education, including the way IT is being used, and could be used to enable learning and teaching. The encyclopedia covers all aspects of the interaction between education and information technologies, including IT in kindergartens, primary and secondary schools, universities, training colleges, industry training, distance education and further education. It also covers teaching and computing, the use of IT in many different subject areas, the use of IT in educational administration, and national policies of IT and education.
World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
A reference on education around the world includes more than 225 countries, with each entry providing a history of the country; the constitutional and legal foundations of the education system; an overview of the educational system itself; sections on preprimary, primary, secondary, and higher education; administration, finance, and educational research; the profession of teaching; and a summary.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
Data & Statistics
Departments of Education by State
Each department offers different information, but a researcher can be fairly assured of finding certification requirements and data concerning individual schools.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System
Search for colleges and universities using criteria such as
type of school, school size, program or degree offered, location, distance from a specified zip code, and name.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES collects and analyzes all types of data related to education. Includes prevalence of students in special education
You can also create and export lists of schools, colleges and libraries based on state and/or other criteria.
National Education Association
Provides both current and projected statistics for public K-12 schools on a local, state and national level including enrollment, attendance, salaries and per student outlay
School District Demographics Website
Provides access to school district geographic and demographic data.
Schools and Staffing Survey
Surveys personnel in public, private and Bureau of Indian Education schools in the 50 states and the District of Columbia to track school trends on a national basis. Key demographic reports include data on the number of students, principals, school media centers, and teachers in public, private, and Bureau of Indian Education elementary and secondary schools.
U.S. Census Bureau
Contains national school enrollment data as collected by the Census Bureau annually. Includes statistics on school population, race/ethnicity, graduation rates, educational attainment and college enrollment.
U.S. Department of Education
Includes education news, statistics, advice, ideas, teaching materials, and more.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
This is the premier place to locate international education statistics.