Skip to main content

Art/Art History: Home

Art and Art History

Silencio = Muerte

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. "Silencio = Muerto.

Verso: 30 gays arrested each night in Buenos Aires. Shame!"

New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed June 24, 2020.

http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e3-1caa-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Welcome to the Art and Art History Subject Guide

Welcome to Art and Art History Resources Guide!

In this guide, you'll find:

Articles: The databases on this page are divided according to primary subject area.  Those in the top box contain articles from journals that focus on art and art history, while those below cover a broad range of subjects in the humanities and other areas.  You can also find articles using the Summon search in the box below.

Books: There are several ways to find books on art and art history through the Alfred libraries.  Scholes and Herrick both have their own catalog searches, allowing you to search for books that are in one collection or the other.  "Other Libraries" provides links to resources that allow you to search the collections of other libraries near and far, and "Electronic Books" focuses on tools for finding e-books.

Images & Media: The Visual Resources guide is a wonderful place to find information on looking for images, but there are some images sources listed on this tab as well--including a link to the Visual Resources subject guide.

Reference: Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and online databases of similar reference sources related to art.

Websites: A wide range of web resources, both scholarly and popular, that deal with art and art history, including blogs and the websites of several art associations.

Primary Sources & Data: Find primary sources, such as memoirs, letters, and autobiographies, or data on glazes and ceramic materials.

Writing & Citing: Guides to the Chicago citation style, and tools to help you create and manage your citations.

Art Subject Guides: A collection of subject guides within the larger banner of art, each one dealing with a more specific focus.

Subject Guide

John Hosford's picture
John Hosford
Contact:
Pronouns: he/him/his
Scholes Library
Office # 234
607 871 2944
Website