Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art and Art History
Embroidered panel, ca. 1800
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Art and Art History Databases
AATA (Art & Archaeology Technical Abstracts) AATA is a comprehensive database of more than 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Art & Architecture Source Indexes and abstracts articles in visual arts periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. In addition to articles, Art Source indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Sources includes the contents of Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective.
ARTbibliographies Modern Index to citations of periodicals, books, exhibition catalogs, and dissertations covering various aspects of late 19th through 21st century art.
Bibliography of the History of Art The Bibliography of the History of Art is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.
The following databases cover multiple subjects.
JSTOR Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
Academic Search Complete Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
Project MUSE Provides full-text articles from over 300 high-quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Most journals are available beginning between 1990 and 2000 to the present.
Research Library Abstracts and full text for scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Covers the arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.
Google Scholar Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
PapersFirst Includes citations for published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting papers.