Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art and Art History
Vase with blue glaze in gradated shades, Heisei period (1989–present), 2001
Miyashita Zenji (Japanese, 1939–2012)
Stoneware with blue glazes
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Oxford Art Online (including Grove Art) Includes 30,000 articles and images on every aspect of the visual arts. Searchable images are from organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, as well as 40,000 editorially selected image links to museums and galleries, which provide essential visual support for art history scholarship. Also includes access to the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Britannica Academic Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica, World Data Analyst (statistics on the countries of the world), Gateway to the Classics (significant works in literature, philosophy, history, and science), Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, and more.
Oxford English Dictionary The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.