Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference books include encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, guides, statistics, and data. They can help you find quick factual information and are a good place to get background information. Use the below links to find out general information about your topic.
Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica, World Data Analyst (statistics on the countries of the world), Gateway to the Classics (significant works in literature, philosophy, history, and science), Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, and more.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
Covers business, including accounting, economics, finance, information systems law, management and marketing.
Encyclopedia of Small Business
Kevin Hillstrom and Laurie Collier Hillstrom, Eds. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2002. 1212 pp. 2 vols.
Includes overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast, Eds. Detroit: Gale, 2002. 2310 pp. 4 vols.
For 198 countries provides in-depth analysis of the economic environment, statistics on current economic conditions, trends, and key demographics of the nation's citiz
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
Detailed information on over 1,500 companies (qualitative and quantitative stock reports), 22,000+ mutual funds, and 1,860+ ETFs. Weekly investment newsletter called The Outlook, and Industry Surveys covering 42 industries within the US, and 10 internationally.
Value Line Investment Survey
Value Line is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy.
American Community Survey Data Tables & Tools
Provides access to social, economic, housing, and demographic data by county or city. Data come from the American Community Survey.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Good for statistical data on the economy; especially good for earnings and occupational outlook information. Well-designed site for quick answers to common U.S. economy questions.
Census Business Builder (CBB)
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
State and County Quick Facts
Provides people, business, and geography QuickFacts, which are frequently requested data items from various Census Bureau programs.
Data is available at the national, state, and county levels.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included.
The United Nations Commodity Statistics Trade Database provides data for over 140 reporting countries, in some cases, spanning the last 40 years. The database is the UN official source for imports, exports and re-exports, for 90% of world trade. Users can select countries, products, years and measurements (values are in US dollars and quantities in net weight). Commodities are arranged by both Harmonized System (HS) and Standard International Trade Classification (SITC). Also includes textual information on countries and customs areas. Updated monthly and annually.
Provides data on internal disparities, highlighting differences within countries such as urban and rural areas. Each country page features a population-policy profile that details current social and political contexts and policy priorities.
United Nations Statistics Division
Includes statistic information from international agencies, United Nations specialized agencies, and autonomous international organizations.
World Bank Data
Contains data from over 220 countries and country groups covering more than 2,000 financial, business, health, economic and human development statistics. The data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators.
EDGAR - SEC Filings & Forms
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Find corporate annual reports as well as 10K reports here.
Securities and Exchange Commission
EDGAR Database of Corporate Information; SEC News Digests and Public Statements; SEC Enforcement Actions; Investor Assistance.
U.S. Census Bureau
Research demographic factors by geographic locations and/or a variety of factors including age, sex, race, income, land area and population density, housing occupancy, and more.