Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Offers more than 5 million items (digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text) from more than 90 historical collections.
Access over a million images covering architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects.
Civil Rights Movement Veterans Website
This web site focuses on the central role played by ordinary people in the Civil Rights Movement.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA works with institutions across America to make millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.
Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
This selection of visual resources from New York Public Library's famous Schomburg Collection includes photos predating the Civil War.
Images of Medieval Manuscripts
This site provides almost 1,000 images of manuscripts, arranged by century and country of origin, from the 11th through the 17th centuries.
New York Heritage Digital Collections
A research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and others who are interested in the Empire State's history. Provides access to hundreds of digital collections from libraries, museums and archives from all over the state.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library.
A repository of freely licensed photographs, diagrams, animations, music, spoken text, video clips, and other media.
Kanopy Video Streaming
A collection of over 25,000 streaming films from producers such as Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, and more. Covers all genres (from documentaries to movies and training videos) and many subject areas (popular films, the arts, business, education k-12, global studies and languages, health, media and communications, sciences, social sciences, and technical training).
OAIster is a free archive of digital resources.
Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive
Catalog for the archive of historical films about the Holocaust and related aspects of World War II, at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Video clips of the footage are available for selected collection holdings; more will be added in the futur
History and Politics Out Loud
A searchable archive of politically significant audio materials for scholars, teachers, and students. HPOL is a component of 'Historical Voices' funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities in partnership with Michigan State University.
A podcast about how the history of sexuality shapes our present. Hosted by Gillian Frank
and Lauren Gutterman.
The Movements: A Podcast History of the Masses
The Movements is a podcast history of the working class, anti-fascists, revolutionaries, women, people of color, and liberation movements. My history shows are narrative driven and audiobook style, with a focus on serious historical and materialist analysis.