Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a database?
A library database is a an electronic collection of published works. Library databases have been curated to help you research different topics. Most databases will have full text and abstracting/indexing for academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources.
Full text means that the database will provide digital access to a copy of the articles in the journal.
Abstracting and indexing means that the database provides basic information about articles in a journal. This information usually includes: title, author, publisher, publication date, topic, and an abstract.
An abstract is a summary of the article. It is a very helpful tool for determining if the article you found in the database is right for you.
Selected Political Science Databases
Lists articles from periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent. Indexes articles from over 246 English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals.
America: History and Life
Covers the history of the United States and Canada. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized.
HeinOnline Government, Politics and Law for Academics
Government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
Best database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Middle East & Africa Database
Ongoing full-text academic journals published in Middle Eastern and African countries. The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
Military and Intelligence Database
Scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
New York Times Digital Edition
Alfred University faculty, staff, and students have access to the digital edition of the New York Times through a service called "Academic Pass." For registration information, see: http://libguides.alfred.edu/nyt
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Provides information on social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
War and Terrorism Collection
Academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
Developed with the contribution of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the database is regularly updated to take account of new books and articles produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
A multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Provides full-text articles from over 300 high-quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Most journals are available beginning between 1990 and 2000 to the present.
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
A comprehensive database of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many can be borrowed from the publishing institution through interlibrary loan (ask at the library for more information).
Collections and Databases Outside of AU
Costs of War
Hosted by Brown University, this website contains the work of over 50 scholars working to illuminate and discuss the hidden costs of US post-911 wars in Iraq and Afghanistan and the related violence in Pakistan and Syria. Research, papers, and statistics cover a variety of topics including the human cost, economic cost, and social/political cost of war.
Marxist Internet Archive
This online archive aims to maintain an archive of any and all writings which are Marxist or relevant to the understanding of Marxism and can be lawfully published. Beyond an extensive library the writings of Marxist historians, there are also full image uploads of a variety of socialist and worker/union periodicals from around the world