Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference books include encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, guides, and maps. They can help you find quick factual information and are a good place to get background information. Use the below links to find out general information about your topic.
Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica, World Data Analyst (statistics on the countries of the world), Gateway to the Classics (significant works in literature, philosophy, history, and science), Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, and more.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Richard Dean Burns, Alexander DeConde, and Fredrik Logevall, Eds. 2nd ed. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002. 1887 pp. 3 vols.
Encyclopedia of Global Change
Includes 300 full-text articles on phenomena that impact life on Earth, including altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, and population.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Includes over 900 full-text articles addressing topics such as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
For 198 countries provides in-depth analysis of the economic environment, statistics on current economic conditions, trends, and key demographics of the nation's citizens.
BBC News Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Countries and Their Cultures
225 countries are described,focusing on the ways of life of the people, and the main forces affecting them. For each country there is a mix of demographic, historical, social, economic, political, and religious information.
A series of online books dealing with 101 foreign countries, describing and analyzing their political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
Provides detailed country profile” for most countries in the world. Covers geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Includes country maps.
Provides succinct reports covering world and regional economic and political developments of significance. Designed to help students research and analyze the impact of probable developments on the business climate
Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and more. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
US Census Data
Search or browse data held by the U.S. Census Bureau throughout history. You can view the data in multiple formats including map visualizations and data tables.