Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News: Historical Newspapers

Newspapers: General

Newspapers: Historical

Online Newspapers Available through "The New York State Library" - NYS Library Borrower's Card Required

 A Borrower's Card from "The New York State Library" is required for access to the Newspaper Resources below.
NYS Residents may apply for a State Library Borrower's Card Here.


African American Newspapers: The 19th Century - The database consists of six newspapers: The Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, Frederick Douglass Paper, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, and The Christian Recorder. Dates covered are 1827-1902. Type: Full text.

Remote Access:NYSL P Card


America's Historical Newspapers - New York newspapers published between 1733 and 1915. The over 200 New York newspaper selections include newspapers from Albany, Ballston Spa, Cooperstown, Hudson, Ithaca, New York City, Plattsburgh, Rochester, Schenectady, Sing-Sing, Troy, and Utica. Type: Full text.

Remote Access:

NYSL P Card


America's Newspapers: New York - Full text coverage of a wide range of New York State newspapers from Albany, Batavia, Binghamton, Buffalo, Lewisboro, Long Island, New York City, Plattsburgh, Saratoga Springs, Schenectady, Suffolk county, Syracuse, Troy, Utica, Watertown, and Westchester county. Titles include the Buffalo News, Daily Gazette (Schenectady), Long Island Advance, Times Union (Albany), New York Post, Observer-Dispatch (Utica), Post Standard (Syracuse), Post-Star (Glens Falls), Press-Republican (Plattsburgh), Saratogian, Watertown Daily Times, and more. Dates of coverage vary with the newspaper. Type: Full text.

Remote Access:

NYSL P Card


Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective - This database contains the full text of major articles from the New York Herald, Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. It includes descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. Type: Full text.

Remote Access:

NYSL P Card


New York Times - Historical - A digital archive for The New York Times, the newspaper of record for the United States, is currently available, from its first issue in 1851 through 2007. Users can search and view article images and full page images, page through issues, and search by a variety of methods. Type: Full text.

Remote Access:

NYSL P Card


Newsbank - Online service that includes access to the following databases: America's Newspapers: New York and America's Historical Newspapers (New York only). Type: Full text.

Remote Access:

NYSL P Card


Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800) - The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800) - Considered The New York Times of the 18th century, the Gazette provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. It includes editorials, letters, and the full text of important documents such as the U.S. Constitution. Type: Full text.

Remote Access:

NYSL P Card


Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County 1819-1870 - Consisting of five Delaware County newspapers, this database contains the full text transcriptions of articles, advertisements, and vital statistics, providing insight into technology, business activity and culture in a down-river milling and manufacturing area. Type: Full text.

Remote Access:

NYSL P Card


State Capital Universe - Contains bills, regulations, and statutes; information about state legislators, issues and policy in State Net Capitol Journal and other news sources, including state newspapers of record; and links to Web sites with state information. Not all states are covered under each topic. Type: Full text.

Remote Access:

NYSL P Card