Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arts of Asia
Vase with immortals bearing the character for longevity (shou), Ming dynasty (1368–1644), Wanli period (1573–1620)
Porcelain painted in underglaze blue
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Art History Databases
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles in visual arts periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. In addition to articles, Art Source indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Sources includes the contents of Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of the History of Art is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowIndex to citations of periodicals, books, exhibition catalogs, and dissertations covering various aspects of late 19th through 21st century art.
General Humanities Databases
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowBest database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles from over 300 high-quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Most journals are available beginning between 1990 and 2000 to the present.